5 Reasons Why I Am Lorelai Gilmore

I’ve seen every Gilmore Girls episode that was ever aired. I love Gilmore Girls. No, like, really love Gilmore Girls.

And as my room mate and I were lazily working through Season 3 one afternoon, she turns to me and says, “You are literally Lorelai.”

I gasped. I had a moment of silent self reflection. I AM HER. SHE IS ME.

WE

ARE

SAME.

And here’s why

1. She’s indecisive about everything (especially men)

I can’t make my mind up about anything, so please don’t ask me what I want to eat for lunch after church. Just don’t. I change my outfit at least twice before I actually walk out of the door in the morning. In regards to dating and romance, I’ve never really gone for a “type”. I’ve dated/been involved with many different kinds of guys, and that’s okay. I don’t really know what I want, and she doesn’t either. AND THAT’S OKAY.

gilmoregirlsgif

2. She’s always in conflict with her mother. 

My mother and I are polar opposites and, because of that, we’re usually arguing about something. She wants me to act like a lady, and I just want to stuff more scones in my mouth before they cool off. She always wanted my hair to be brushed, but I kinda like it when it’s wild and curly. My spirit is too free, mother dearest. Let me fly…even if it’s into an electric fence.

03ba11b17a8fb6cb3aba4cb912d244bf

3. She talks. A lot. 

And so very fast. It’s not that I hate silence, I just have a lot going on in my brain ALL. THE. TIME. There’s only 24 hours in a day! How am I supposed to say all the things that I need to say?! I drove with my uncle all the way to Portland from my house in LA when I was 8, and I was only silent for 2 hours, and that’s just because I was sleeping. I don’t even notice when I’m talking too much, so a gentle pat on the knee or a giant smack to the face should kind of reign me back in.

tumblr_nbdwes40z51sonuq6o1_500

4. She always has a snappy comeback. 

Other than tap dancing, my only other skill is always having a sarcastic or humorous comeback when I need one. It’s taken years of practice and pop culture relevancy. Thank you, brain. You’re my hero.

tumblr_m7pxiwlnqn1qgbyhko1_500

5. She’s impulsive, so you really need to keep an eye on her to make sure that she doesn’t harm herself or others. 

I make decisions without thinking about them, and I never really understand the concept of consequences. Luckily, I have people around me who keep an eye out for me and help me get through the day without committing a felony. Disorganized? Yeah. Impulsive? Yeah. Entertaining and fun? Absolutely.

gilmore-girls-7

Leave a Reply

