Why You So Obsessed With Me?

It’s been a while since I’ve even blogged! I can’t even journal consistently, so I don’t know why keeping a blog would be any different.

During the school year, I’m extremely busy and I don’t have any time to pursue my other interests. I can’t read recreationally. I can’t go record hunting. I can’t buy tacky knick knacks. But now that it’s SUMMER (yaysies) I finally have a little time to myself. So, here are things I’ve been obsessed with lately.

1. Nicki Minaj

4296096-nickiminajglasgowbigger_600

Nicki Minaj is the queen of rap and R&B. Sorry haters. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve listened to “Only” (usually juts to hear Drake giggle “I agree”). She’s so fierce. “I don’t f$#@ with them chickens”, she sayeth, “unless they last name is cutlet.” Preach, girl. Preach truth.

2. Watercoloring my boyfriend’s sketchbook

IMG_3542

I don’t do art, and I ruin everything I try to make into art. But I need a creative outlet, because it’s good for bipolar brains. So I wait until he goes to work and then I just watercolor away. He doesn’t mind.

3. “Down the Highway: The Life of Bob Dylan”

IMG_3538

My love for Bob Dylan runs deep. If you ever need a BD mixtape, I’m your girl. I have most of the Bootleg albums, Highway 61 Revisited, Basement Tapes, the Whitmark Demos…his music is everything to me. This book is engaging and wonderful, and starts with his very humble beginnings and really paints a portrait of who the man was. I love it.

4. Freaky Knick Knacks 

IMG_3540IMG_3541

The first one was a gift from my boyfriend, but the second was a sweet find from 3 Dachshunds in Edmond. {2508 Edmond Rd}. We affectionately call the duck the “Fresh Prince” duck, and I mean who doesn’t love Charlie Brown and his negativity?

5. Acquiring every record on the planet

IMG_3539

I also found this at 3 Dachshunds. I love feeding my record addiction, and being able to have time to do so. When “Hey Tonight” by CCR comes on, you know I’ll be dancing, regardless of where I am. The apartment. In public. Church. Wherever. The Four Tops vinyl was also a steal, and it’s wonderful.

Other Updates

  • we got a fish. We named it Mr. Eko.
  • Marissa and I are currently working through LOST again. feels.
  • We also both work in a sweatshop, which is actually kind of fun. Except I iron shirts that cost more than my college tuition.
  • I’m currently collaborating with my two fellow Spring Sing directors on the show. It’s gonna be a good one, fam.
  • I’M VISITING CALIFORNIA IN AUGUST AND I HONESTLY CANNOT WAIT TO HAVE REAL SHAVED ICE AND EAT BURGERS FROM THE MEAN KOREANS IN THE LIQOUR STORE.
  • My mom replaced me with a small dog named Harvey, who I will meet once I go back home. We’ll see how that goes.
Leave a Reply

