296.89 Project #1: “Lights Out”

img_1377

I wanted to start a small photo series about the consequences of bipolar disorder beyond what the general public eye can see.

I wanted to start with a self portrait.

See, I’m good at hiding. Not to say I’m lying to you all about who I am, but I am trying to project the person I used to be before I really got sick.

Once I come home and have shaken off the burdens of school, studying, and taking care of other people during clinicals, you can really see me. I don’t smile. I retreat into a shell. I become withdrawn and have no emotions whatsoever, and if I do I’m usually weepy. There are bags under my eyes from not being able to sleep.

This is a tired person. Lights out, but it’s the same cycle the next day.

Leave a Reply

